Paschal Suite

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Organ and Trumpet

Published by Augsburg and available from Advent Press. 

1. Passacaglia

2. Pastorale (on a theme of Palestrina)

3. Paean to the Risen Christ

The Paschal Suite is based on four Easter hymn tunes. The first phrase of ""Easter Hymn: Jesus Christ is risen today"" serves as the theme of the Passacaglia, with the trumpet heralding the the plainsong ""Victimae paschali laudes."" The chorale tune ""Gelobt sei Gott"" rounds out the movement. The middle movement is a siciliano on Palestrina's tune ""Victory,"" and the final Paean features a fiery toccata on a canonic treatment of ""Gelobt sei Gott."""